Nigeria’s new President, Muhammadu Buhari was sworn in on Friday, May 29, 2015.

The event attracted dignitaries from around the world and 20 Presidents were in attendance.

Other world leaders sent representatives to attend the historic ceremony in their place.

US President, Barack Obama was represented by Secretary of State, John Kerry, China was represented by Minister of Agriculture, Han Changful and Russian President, Vladimir Putin was represented by the Foreign Affairs Minister, Sergei Lavrov.

Below is a list of the Presidents who attended the event:

  1. Jacob Zuma (South Africa)

  2. John Dramani (Ghana)

  3. Paul Kagame (Rwanda)

  4. Idriss Derby (Chad)

  5. Boni Yayi (Benin Republic)

  6. Theodore Nguema (Equatorial Guinea)

  7. Robert Mugabe (Zimbabwe)

  8. Macky Sall (Senegal)

  9. Ernest Koroma (Sierra Leone)

  10. Mahammadu Issoufou (Niger)

  11. Mohammed Abdelaziz (Saharawi Republic)

  12. Joseph Kabila (Congo Kinshasa)

  13. Denis Nguesso (Congo Brazzaville)

  14. Michel Kafando (Burkina Faso)

  15. Hage Geingob (Namibia)

  16. Manuel Pinto da Costa (São Tomé & Principe)

  17. Hassan Mohamoud (Somalia)

  18. Hailemariam Desalegn (Ethiopia)

  19. James Igga (South Sudan)

  20. Mohammed Bilal (Tanzania)